Home New mexico real estate Voters will choose candidates for several local and state offices

Voters will choose candidates for several local and state offices


Next Tuesday is election day and there are many local candidates on the general election ballot, as well as tax issues and constitutional amendments.

Valencia County Sheriff

In the race for Valencia County sheriff, Democrat Rodney Jones, 56, a retired law enforcement officer, and Republican incumbent Denise Vigil, 51, are on the ballot.

Valencia County Commission

There are two seats on the Valencia County Commission – Districts 1 and 3.

Republican Gerard Saiz, a 63-year-old retired federal worker, currently holds the District 1 seat and is running unopposed for his second term.

In District 3, Democrat Sabrina Marie Sweeney, 36, a cosmetologist and business executive at Hair Innovations, will run against Republican Morris R. Sparkman, 27, a design engineer for a U.S. Department of Defense contractor. .

Valencia County Assessor

Democrat Beverly Dominguez Romero, 60, the current Valencia County assessor, is running for her second term against Republican Celia Dawn Dittmaier, 47, the Deputy Chief Clerk of Valencia County.

Valencia County Probate Judge

In the race for Valencia County probate judge, Democrat Helen (Cole) Saiz is running against Republican Wendy Wallace. Saiz, 52, is retired from the New Mexico Department of Health. She retired from Valencia County after 19 years and served one term on the county commission.

Wallace, 51, a realtor, was appointed to the vacant probate seat by the Valencia County Commission after Judge Jamie Goldberg was selected to fill the vacant Valencia County Magistrate’s Division III seat.

Valencia County Magistrates

Premier League

In the race for Division I magistrates, Democrat Michael Melendez, 63, who listed his profession as a sole proprietor, is running against incumbent Republican Miles Tafoya, 35, who is running for his first four-year term. after being elected in 2020 to complete the term of retired magistrate Tina Garcia.

Section II

In Division II, Democrat Dell P. Washington, 74, a writer and actor, runs against Republican incumbent John Chavez, 55, a retired U.S. Army colonel.

Section III

Sabrina L. Rael, 31, Democrat, and Republican Deseri Sichler, 49, current Valencia County Treasurer, are on the ballot for the Division III seat.

Rael is the Classification Officer and Sichler is the second term Valencia County Treasurer and Owner/Broker of Real Estate Masters.

New Mexico State Representatives

District 7

Democrat Danny M. Bernal Jr. and Republican Tanya Mirabal Moya are running for the District 7 seat.

Bernal, 23, is the missions supervisor at ADC LTD NM and a city councilor in Belen. Moya, 47, is a teacher at Belen High School.

District 8

Republican Brian Baca, 51, was nominated to the District 8 seat in January after Alonzo Baldonado suddenly announced his resignation. Baca is the assistant superintendent of Los Lunas Schools.

He will run against Democratic write-in candidate Paul Kinzelman, a pilot.

To vote for Kinzelman, voters will need to write his name in the space provided on the ballot.

Wards 49 and 69

In District 49, Republican Gail Armstrong is running unopposed, as is Democrat Harry Garcia in District 69.

13th Judicial District Court Judge Division IX

Voters will choose candidates for a newly created judgeship located in Sandoval County in the 13th Judicial District.

Democrat Karl W. Reifsteck, 40, is running against Republican Allison P. Martinez, 47.

Reifsteck was appointed to the position by the governor this summer and was a receiver prior to his appointment. Martinez is a lawyer.

Early voting is from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., through Saturday, Nov. 5, at the Belen Community Center, 305 Eagle Lane; the Bosque Farms Public Library, 1455 W. Bosque Loop; and Valencia County Administration Offices, 444 Luna Ave., Los Lunas.

Absentee ballots must be returned to the County Clerk’s Office, 444 Luna Ave., Los Lunas, by 7 p.m., Tuesday, November 8. There are also mail-in ballot boxes at all three early voting sites.