Home New mexico state Here’s where to vote in the New Mexico primary elections. What’s on the ballot.

Here’s where to vote in the New Mexico primary elections. What’s on the ballot.


FARMINGTON — New Mexicans will vote in the June 7 primary election to narrow the field of candidates seeking nomination for their political parties in state, county and federal offices.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at 33 polling centers in San Juan County. Voters can vote at any of the centers.

Several statewide offices are on the ballot, including governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney general and state auditor.

Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham is the Democratic candidate and is seeking a second term.

Jay Block, Rebecca Dow, Gregory Zanetti, Ethel Maharg and Mark Ronchetti are in the running for the Republican candidate for governor.

For the Libertarian Party, the nomination is between Karen Bedonie and Ginger Grider, who is a written candidate.

Incumbent and Democrat Teresa Leger Fernández and Republican Alexis Martinez Johnson are on the ballot for the 3rd congressional district race.

The opposing state representatives are Republicans Rodney Montoya for District 1, P. Mark Duncan for District 2 and T. Ryan Lane for District 3, and Democrat Derrick J. Lente for District 65.

Democratic incumbent Anthony Allison faces fellow Democrat Christina J. Aspaas for the state representative seat in District 4. No Republican candidate has run for the position.

The other representative seats in the state that have no Republican candidates but two Democratic candidates running are incumbents Doreen Wonda Johnson and Kevin M. Mitchell for District 5 and incumbent Harry Garcia and write-in nominee Marvin Anthony Trujillo for District 69.

Early voting ended on June 4.

As of June 3, 2,779 Republicans, 1,057 Democrats and 12 Libertarians had voted in the county, either by mail or in person during the early voting period, according to the secretary of state’s office.

Statewide, the number of mail-in ballots and in-person ballots was 50,681 for the Democratic Party, 38,614 for the Republican Party, and 360 for the Libertarian Party.

What is a primary? What to know about the open and closed congressional primaries

Various campaign signs for the 2022 election are located at East Main Street and East 20th Street in Farmington.

San Juan County seats on ballots

County Commissioner District 1: GloJean B. Todacheene, Democrat; Stanley Wauneka Sr., Democrat; Albert J. Paul, Democrat

County Commissioner District 2: Zac “Zachariah” J. George, Democrat; Gary M. McDaniel, Republican; Ervin Chavez, Republican

County Assessor: Jimmy Voita, Republican; Henry C. Silentman, Democrat

County Sheriff: R. Shane Ferrari, Republican

Commissioner of Public Education District 5: Sharon Clahchischilliage, Republican

Magistrate Judge Division 1: Russell L. Bradford, Republican; Dagmar Kamilah Keams, Republican; Songtree L. Pickaxe, Democrat

Magistrate Judge Division 2: Rena Scott, Republican; Stanley R. King, Democrat

Magistrate Judge Division 3: Mark Steven Hawkinson, Republican

Magistrate Judge Division 4: Trudy M. Chase, Democrat

Magistrate Judge Division 5: Erich F. Cole, Republican

Magistrate Judge Division 6: Stacey D. Biel, Republican

Inheritance judge: Gary Risley, Republican

Drivers on East 20th Street in Farmington are reminded to vote.  The 2022 primary election in New Mexico will take place on June 7.

Where to Vote in San Juan County


  • Aztec Masonic Lodge
  • Cedar Hill Fire Station
  • San Juan County Fire Operations Center


flowery field

  • Bloomfield Town Hall
  • Bloomfield Cultural Center


  • Farmington City Hall
  • Farmington Civic Center
  • Farmington Museum at Gateway Park
  • Farmington Public Library
  • McGee Park
  • Piñon Hills Community Church
  • Piñon Hills Seventh-day Adventist Church
  • Sycamore Park Community Center

Flora Vista


  • Brooks-Isham Center for the Performing Arts
  • Kirtland Youth Association

La Plata

  • La Plata Community Center


  • Consolidated Central School District Business Office
  • Phil L. Thomas Center for the Performing Arts

Peripheral areas

  • Beclabito Chapter Facilities
  • Crystal Chapter Facilities
  • Gadii’ahi Chapter Facilities
  • Facilities of the Huerfano Chapter
  • Lake Valley School
  • Nageezi Chapter Facilities
  • Naschitti Chapter Facilities
  • Nenanhezad Chapter Facilities
  • Newcomb Fire Station
  • Sheep Springs Chapter Facilities
  • Tiis Tsoh Sikaad (Burnham) Chapter Facilities
  • Facilities of the Tsé Alnaozt’i’í Chapter (Sanostee)
  • Two Gray Hills Chapter facilities

After:Candidates file paperwork for this year’s primary elections in San Juan County

Noel Lyn Smith covers the Navajo Nation for the Daily Times. She can be reached at 505-564-4636 or by email at [email protected].

Support local journalism with a digital subscription: http://bit.ly/2I6TU0e