Driving without insurance in New Mexico comes with financial and legal risks. New Mexico is the fourth largest state for uninsured motorists with about 21.8% of drivers driving without insurance, according to the latest study from the Insurance Information Institute. This means that drivers in an accident have a one in five chance of hitting an uninsured driver. If you are in the 21.8%, you are not only putting others at financial risk, but putting yourself at risk for financial or legal consequences.
Minimum insurance required in New Mexico
New Mexico state law requires all drivers to be responsible for personal injury and property damage. Currently, drivers must have a minimum 25/50/10 policy.
- $ 25,000 per person for bodily injury or death
- $ 50,000 per accident for bodily injury or death
- $ 10,000 per accident for property damage
For minimum coverage only, drivers in New Mexico pay approximately $ 385 per year, based on the annual premiums offered by Quadrant Information Services. However, experts strongly recommend that drivers consider purchasing a comprehensive insurance policy that would include collision and comprehensive coverage.
Liability only pays for damage you cause to someone else – it does not cover damage or financial loss to yourself or your vehicle. If you’re struck by an uninsured driver in an accident, Uninsured Motorist coverage will help cover your medical and repair costs.
Penalties for driving without insurance in New Mexico
Even though this is the first incident, drivers in New Mexico driving without insurance face immediate license and registration suspension. Driving without insurance may also result in the issuance of an SR-22 requirement.
If this is your first offense, you could be jailed for up to 90 days and fined up to $ 300. For a repeat offense, you could be jailed for 6 months and pay a fine of up to $ 1,000. If you are convicted of driving without insurance more than twice, a judge can order an even harsher sentence.
Getting into an accident while uninsured is when drivers can expect jail time and higher fines. New Mexico has one of the highest auto fatalities in the country (20.2 travelers per 100,000 people), so reckless driving – especially without insurance – is severely penalized.
New Mexico Online Insurance Verification System Fees
New Mexico recently partnered with PASCO Inc. to develop an online insurance identification database through Validati. Drivers and insurance companies can submit proof of insurance at www.driveinsured.com. If you are not in the system as having adequate insurance, you will either receive a ticket for no insurance from a police officer or you will receive a notice in the mail.
If you receive a letter in the mail, you have 30 days to submit proof of insurance before your registration is suspended. If you do not meet this deadline before obtaining insurance, you will have to pay a fine of $ 30 to reinstate your license. Drivers can pay these fees online through the MVD New Mexico portal.
Have an accident without insurance
An accident in New Mexico without insurance can have far more devastating consequences. Not only will the aforementioned penalties take place, but you expose yourself to a financial burden that can take you years to recover.
Not having enough insurance is an equally risky decision. If you have liability insurance, you may have a misconception that you are financially secure in the event of an accident. While you are technically better off than someone who has no insurance, you are still responsible for any damages you cause, even if they exceed the limits of your coverage. For example, if you are wrecked in a vehicle with multiple passengers, their medical bills could quickly exceed the minimum limits of the liability policy. If you do not have insurance, you are responsible for any excess over the policy limits. In order to obtain payment, a civil court could seize your property and seize your wages.
Auto insurance is designed to protect you and others on the road from financial devastation. Therefore, driving without this form of financial protection is likely to have long-term financial and legal consequences.
Frequently Asked Questions
What if you provide false insurance information?
The state’s ramifications for driving without insurance are serious, but providing false insurance information can result in criminal charges. You could lose your license, face jail time, and be fined heavily. With New Mexico’s online insurance verification system, any false insurance information provided by drivers can be quickly discovered by law enforcement.
Plus, if you’re dishonest with your insurance company for getting approval or lowering your rate, your policy will more than likely be canceled. The incident would show up in your insurance history, which means you will likely have more difficulty or more expense in obtaining a policy from another insurer.
How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in New Mexico?
The average cost of auto insurance in the United States is $ 1,674 per year for full coverage, based on the annual premiums shown. In New Mexico, full coverage premiums average $ 1,419 per year. On average, drivers in New Mexico pay $ 255 less than the national rate for full coverage.
Does New Mexico Require SR-22s?
Yes, New Mexico requires drivers to provide an SR-22 form in certain circumstances. An eligible circumstance would be driving without insurance in New Mexico.
What Are the Best Insurance Companies in New Mexico?
Bankrate ranks the best insurance companies based on customer satisfaction scores, financial strength, and coverage and discount options. Based on our review of these factors, the best companies in New Mexico are Allstate, American Family, Geico, Safeco, and State Farm. However, the best auto insurance provider will be different for every driver. Comparing quotes and coverage options that match your insurance needs is the best way to find the best insurer for you.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, DC Rates shown are based on a 40 year old male and female driver with a clean driving record, credit and the following comprehensive coverage limits:
- $ 100,000 liability for bodily injury per person
- $ 300,000 in civil liability for bodily injury per accident
- Civil liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
- $ 100,000 in bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist per person
- $ 300,000 in uninsured bodily injury per accident to a motorist
- $ 500 collision deductible
- Global deductible of $ 500
To determine the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our basic profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and cover 12,000 miles a year.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.